the next generation of Dance as Art

Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble

Event Details

Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble

Time: March 21, 2019 at 8pm to March 24, 2019 at 3pm
Location: Actors Fund Arts Center
Street: 160 Schermerhorn Street
City/Town: Brooklyn
Website or Map: http://www.sokolowtheatredanc…
Phone: 18008383006
Event Type: dance
Organized By: Audrey Ross
Latest Activity: Feb 21, 2019

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

The Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble presents "I'm not here to be polite" (taken from Anna Sokolow's remark "I'm not here to be polite, I'm here to tell the truth!").  Veteran Sokolow dancers Francesca Todesco, Eleanor Bunker, and Luis Gabriel Zaragoza, will be joined by a new generation of Sokolow dancers in the choreographer's renowned 1968 "Steps of Silence," and a reconstruction of her "Three Poems," created in 1973 for the Juilliard dancers.  Eleanor Bunker will dance Valerie Bettis's famed dramatic solo "The Desperate Heart," created in 1943 inspired by John Malcolm Brinnin's poem of the same name.  Director Jim May will be represented by his romantic duet "Sleeping Bouquet," danced by Todesco and guest Daniel Fetecua.  Guest choreographer is Robert Cleary, who was invited to set his provocative "This is Not America" for the Sokolow dancers.

Comment Wall


RSVP for Sokolow Theatre/Dance Ensemble to add comments!

Join danceart.

Attending (1)

© 2021   Created by danceart.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service